Cacoy Doce Pares

Inspiration

I’ve been studying a lot of Cacoy Doce Pares in preparation for the fourth Annual STL Counterpoint Seminar featuring Master Zach Whitson (Details coming soon!), and over the weekend, Josh Ryer posted a video of himself sparring at Cacoy Doce Pares Headquarters with GM John Mac. This morning, I came across a quote from Gautama Siddharta, the founder of Buddhism, “Thousands of candles can be lit from a single candle, and the life of the candle will not be shortened. Happiness never decreases by being shared.” Instantly, I thought of SGM Ciriaco “Cacoy” Cañete because of the effects that his life had on my friends. Master Whitson and Josh to name just two, and this sort of expanded to wonder just how many lives have been touched because SGM Cacoy pursued the art that he loved. He studied, taught, and innovated a martial art that has circled the globe. I never met him, but his impact on my friends lives is noticeable and undeniable. He inspired them, and they inspire me.

When looking for photos to attach this quote to, I found the one below – two gentlemen who have inspired me by pursuing their passions. It fit with the quote nicely, and it’s a greater reminder for me to pursue my passions, to share my happiness, and focus on that which fuels me.

Thousands of candles

Leave a Reply

