Cacoy Doce Pares / CTS / Empty Hands / Fitness / Goals / Health / Martial Arts / Self Defense / Seminars / Team Kali / Writing

Miscellaneous Thoughts

cts-logo01.png

March is almost upon us, and soon, I’ll start advertising for the STL Counterpoint seminar with Counterpoint Tactical System founder Zach Whitson. Mataas Na Guro Whitson will conduct a one day seminar followed by rank testing. Topics are still to be determined. This will be the third annual seminar in the St. Louis area with Master Whitson. In 2013, I brought him in for a seminar, and every year, I get more excited than the year before. It’s a real privilege to be able to do this. My CTS family from Southern Missouri comes up to support my club, and it’s a fun time. This year will be no different.

One of my goals for this year was to lose weight. Since I practice the SMART goal setting techniques, the actual wording of the goal was to lose ten pounds by my birthday, which is early April. Well, I hit that goal last week. Sue and I have been following the Whole 30 philosophy since the end of January. Whole 30, as far as I understand it, is just a stricter version of the paleo diet. I describe as eating foods that you recognize as food. There’s no processed foods and also no meals as shakes. For 30 days, it’s very strict. No alcohol, no tobacco, limited coffee use, etc. Even though almonds are acceptable, almond milk is not unless you make it yourself. The idea is to change your relationship with food. It has been a wonderful 30 days. I feel different on the diet. I haven’t stuck to it perfectly, though. I haven’t cheated with foods; everything we’ve eaten has been acceptable. I’ve had more coffee than the program recommends, and they want you to eat 3 meals per day with no snacking. On days that I go to Title Boxing club, the no snacking rule gets broken. I’ve found that if I eat a banana about 30 – 45 minutes before the workout, I work harder. Because we workout after our day jobs but before dinner, I was already hungry. Working out on an empty stomach, I felt as if I had no energy. The mental motivation was there but my body just didn’t want to work. I also tried the other side as well. I had dinner before my hard workout. Then, I felt too full. I was uncomfortable the whole time, and while I had energy, I was slower because of the larger meal. One banana and maybe some almond butter before a workout is optimal for me. If you’re interested in cutting carbs, this program is a good way to jump start a low carb lifestyle. It’s only 30 days, and there is nothing to buy. Sue got a used copy of their book, It Starts with Food, off Amazon. The only real expense was groceries, which we had to buy anyways.

Even though I hit my target weight, my goal isn’t complete. When I weigh myself on my birthday, that’s when I know that I met my goal. So, I still have a month and a half to go before the goal is complete. But thanks to Sue, Whole 30, and Title Boxing Club, I am feeling great. Now, it’s time to brain storm new goals for the rest of the year!

I was trying to think the other day how long I’ve been working with Team Kali now. It’s not quite a year. It’s been a lot of fun. We’ve grown considerably since I began working with Steve. The new members are really doing well. I’m not used to teaching large groups; so, it’s been an adjustment for me. And don’t get me wrong; it’s a good adjustment. I like being able to introduce Counterpoint Tactical System to new people. I’m also having fun working with Steve and getting his perspective on what I teach. I’ve learned a lot about how to convey the art in this time frame. Learning from Steve is good for me because it exposes me to different methodologies. I look at his teachings through my base art, CTS, and what he’s showing me forces me to think deeper about what I’ve learned so far. Back when Steve first invited me to be a part of Team Kali and to teach CTS as a part of the team, I knew it was an opportunity that I couldn’t pass up. Watching Team Kali and STL Counterpoint grow together, I know I’ve made the right decision.

STL Counterpoint Hoodie

Finally, Ryan surprised me with this hoodie on Saturday. His friend Roger made one for each of us. This makes me very happy. They are very good quality with the front logo embroidered. I started this club a couple years ago with the most selfish of reasons. I wanted training partners in the art of Counterpoint Tactical System. It has definitely grown since those first days. I never gave any thought to having t-shirts, let alone selling them. With my club growing, I may have to reconsider. These hoodies aren’t for sale, but I like seeing my logo on it. Friday night, three quarters of Saturday, and half of Sunday was devoted to finishing up a project for work this week. My training time was limited to only meeting with Ryan on Saturday. My personal study time got pushed to next weekend. It was a stressful weekend, and these hoodies came at the perfect time. Thank you, Roger.

Leave a Reply

