Brazillian Jiu Jitsu

Why Concepts Are Better Than Techniques in BJJ

Today is re-blog day for me. There are a number of good articles in my reader this morning. This one is fantastic. It discusses a fundamental trait of Counterpoint Tactical System even though the author trains a different art. Martial arts are about surpassing style and tradition to find your own way.

Mountains to Mats

Here’s a great article written by Kit Dale and posted at Jiu Jitsu Brotherhood. It’s worth a read. It fits right in to my BJJ progression.
Source: http://jiujitsubrotherhood.com/2014/04/why-concepts-are-better-than-techniques-in-bjj/

“You’ll never be a World Class Black Belt as an Australian, living in Australia. It’s just not possible”.

These were the words said to me by my first Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu coach, back in 2008, after I shared my goals with nothing more than an enthusiastic attitude and a solid belief that anyone can achieve anything with the right mindset.

Luckily for me I always had a rebellious attitude towards authority. If they told me I couldn’t do something or that I wasn’t allowed to, it just made me want to do it even more. So I took the challenge – to be the first Australian world-class black belt or, even better, black belt world champion.

So there I was, a 22-year-old plasterer…

View original post 1,655 more words

Leave a Reply

