CTS / Goals / Iron Mountain Camp / Martial Arts / Seminars / Testing

2013 Goals Continued

Hey there. I’ve been battling a nasty flu for the past few days, and I haven’t prepared a blog post. But I have a big announcement that will fit in with my Martial Arts goals for this year. May 25, 2013, STL Counterpoint will host a seminar with Master Zach Whitson. Master Whitson is the creator and founder of Counterpoint Tactical Systems. Zach holds an 8th degree black belt in Cacoy Doce Pares presented in June of 2012 by SGM Cacoy himself in the Philipines. Master Whitson also holds the rank of Mataas No Guro in Pekiti Tirsia under Tuhon McGrath and a 7th degree black belt in American Kenpo Karate under Senior Master Richard Planas. This is the first seminar that STL Counterpoint has hosted and ideally will turn into an annual event. Below is a highlight video of the Counterpoint Tactical Systems concepts from Iron Mountain camp. More details to come! We’re excited for this next step as a CTS club.

Since I’ve been sick, I haven’t been working on a new post. This one will be short and sweet, but it will follow up on the last post about my goal setting process. This post will feature examples of my Martial Arts goals for the year. One example I’ve given, but I’m going to repeat it here. This post will also serve to reinforce my efforts and keep me on track to completing my goals.

1.) Test for second Brown belt at the 2013 Iron Mountain Camp in Butler, TN.

2.) Host a CTS seminar with Master Zach Whitson in Spring of 2013.

3.) Engage in a private training session with Master Zach Whitson to cover Empty Hands vs. Knife level 02 before the second Brown belt test at Iron Mountain. Stretch Goal: Cover bayonet and alphabito portions of Pekiti Largo.

4.) Find a new space for practice by the end of February 2013.

5.) Get 5 new students by the end of 2013.

6.) Weekly blog updates for the rest of the year. (This will take some planning.)

These are five goals that not only advance where I want to be in life and in martial arts but these are also fun goals that challenge me. I need a challenge to keep myself interested, and these goals do just that while still being enjoyable.

Notice that I also made goals that support others in the same year. Individual goals that feed into larger goals allow me to focus on particularly tricky or subtle aspects of the larger goal. These individual goals are waypoints on my journey to the larger goal. It is easy to see how goal number three supports goal number one. Another way I’ll be supporting goal number one is to travel down to train with the guys at Springfield FMA to work on the areas that I feel need strengthening before Iron Mountain camp. Plus, the guys down in Springfield are always fun to train with.

These are my martial arts goals for the year. Six goals for one area of my life is a lot for one year. For example, I only have three writing goals for this year. Three is the number that I’m usually comfortable with, but the Martial Arts goals for this year are interconnected with each other and support one another.This makes six goals easier to accomplish as well.

2012 was a strange year for me. It was one of beginnings (new relationship, established STL Counterpoint, new roles and levels of responsibility at work) and one of endings (loss of a family member, friends moving away, graduating my writing program). 2013 will be a year without a preset plan going into it. My goals will help lay out plans and transition me from being only a student to now being a student who teaches other students.

2 thoughts on “2013 Goals Continued

  1. You sound like a man who was to be in a forward motion and make every day count. Very inspirational goals and I hope for you sake as well as your readers, you are successful. I’m sure you are surrounded in support and cheer leaders.

  2. Pingback: Coming This Saturday! | stlcounterpoint

Leave a Reply

